Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Different Bird!

This Blue-headed Vireo is a Winter migrant here in my neighborhood.  This bird was new to me when I first saw it a couple of weeks ago..  From what I have read about Blue-headed Vireos, they prefer to be with just one or two other Blue-headed Vireos, and then hang out with other kinds of small birds.

The Blue-headed Vireo has a grey head, greenish-grey and white back, a white throat, and yellow areas on its lower sides.  Blue-headed Vireos have white eye rings that somewhat resemble eye glasses.  Blue-headed Vireos eat insects and seldom will eat berries or seeds.  I saw this Vireo across the street from my home, on Jan. 27, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

DSC_9339DSC_9341DSC_9340

Comments on: "A Different Bird!" (11)

  1. This is a beautiful bird- I’ve never managed to get a really good look at one before, great photos!

    • Hi Seasons, It is a great-looking bird. I am very happy to have new birds come. I think the very unusually frigid temperatures up North have encouraged birds to visit North-Central Florida. Have an excellent weekend!

  2. how pretty! you really are living in a marvelous spot to catch warblers and vireos and the like!

    • Hi Theresa, I was think the same a bit earlier this afternoon when I spotted a flock of warblers up in the Oaks and Magnolia in my front yard. Bad light for photography so I just enjoyed the shady view. Have a great weekend and thanks for your fine comments!

  3. Gorgeous little bird… Except for his coloring, he looks a little like a finch… Is he in the Finch Family???? I love that blue color on his head.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I think that these are a distant cousin to the finches as they both are perching birds – just not close cousins. Have a wonderful weekend and stay warm! Cool here in Marion County, FL today.

  4. Great sightings of the Vireo, he is pretty. Great shots. Have a happy weekend!

  5. Hi all, I was just watching the Olympic opening ceremonies on TV and thought I would applaud the Russian dancers and choreographers for the magnificent and quite beautiful “Dove of Peace” Swan Lake dance. Just stunning! Wildlifewatcher

  6. What a gorgeous bird, and while I never get tired of seeing the same species around myself, it is such a thrill to see something new in your neighbourhood…serious envy…

    • Hi Loriidae, I am really thrilled to see new birds. I saw several new birds in the last couple of weeks here at home and down at Ding Darling on Sanibel Island (about 3 hours South of my home). Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for the nice comments. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

