Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_0864

This pair of Downy Woodpeckers has made its home in my neighborhood recently.  I spotted the pair of small woodpeckers drilling away on the trunk of a medium-sized, dead, Red Cedar tree located on the bank of the rainfall retention basin across the street from my home.  The male is the one with that red spot on the crown of his head.

The two Downy Woodpeckers were likely looking for insects to eat.  Sometimes the woodpeckers drill holes to store food and that is another possibility for all the pecking.  Woodpeckers also peck  sometimes, to communicate over a long distance.  Since the female was on the same tree, the pecking was most likely food-related.  I took these pictures late on a cloudy afternoon on Wed. March 4, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_0866DSC_0842DSC_0840

Comments on: "Downy Woodpeckers in Action" (6)

  1. i love these cute little woodpeckers. glad you have a pair, there.

  2. Downys are such cute little birds. They are year-round visitors to my suet feeder. Such sweet little guys…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad you enjoy these little woodpeckers at your suet feeder. At the moment, I still don’t have any bird feeders out. I am considering having a suet and seed combo feeder as well as a hummingbird nectar feeder – I have limited space at my tiny patio. i have planted my very small raised bed vegetable garden. Have a tremendously nice day and a great weekend!

  3. I love these cute woodpeckers. They are always a treat to see. Great shots, Have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I like these little woodpeckers a bit more than I do their chatty cousins the Red-bellied Woodpeckers. The little guys have a lot of personality and are much quieter in their nature. Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

