Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_0885

This Red-bellied Woodpecker was spotted at what I like to call the “Woodpecker colony” located in a pasture near one of the entrances to this development.  This is in a working cattle ranch pasture.  It is a block from the rainfall retention pond where I have been seeing the ducks and egrets.

Last year I also spotted quite a few Red-headed Woodpeckers in this pasture location.  While I was there taking pictures, I did hear what I think was the trill of a Red-headed Woodpecker,  but that bird was likely deep in the nearby Oak forest on the ranch property (not accessible).  I took these pictures of the chatty woodpecker on March 9, 2014 early in the evening.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  As ever, I hope you will enjoy the pictures!

DSC_0886DSC_0888DSC_0887

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: A Red-Bellied Woodpecker" (4)

  1. i always like your woodpecker wednesday series as i know how much you like them all. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Thanks! You are very correct in that I do get enthusiastic when I spot any woodpeckers! It gives me great joy to watch these birds (and many others). Have a really nice Thursday tomorrow!

  2. I enjoy your Woodie Wednesday.. Great series on the Redbellied… Have a great evening..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

