Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Phoebe’s Story

DSC_0880

If this Eastern Phoebe could talk in a way you and I could easily understand, it would tell us about the day it witnessed a battle in the skies between a hawk and several rather agitated crows.  The action happened on March 9, 2014 in a cattle pasture that I refer to as “The woodpecker colony”.

The Eastern Phoebe was minding its own business, sitting on a barbed wire fence in the cattle pasture when a Red-shouldered Hawk flew by, full-speed!  The poor Phoebe almost panicked but soon realized, whew, that the hawk was actually fleeing from a gang of angry Common Crows.  The crows set upon that hawk and chased it for several minutes before both the crows and that  hawk disappeared out of sight!  The Eastern Phoebe and I were then off  to other adventures on that late afternoon.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  The Phoebe and I hope you enjoy the photographs and the Phoebe’s short tale.DSC_0898 (1)

DSC_0891 (1)DSC_0894 - Version 2 (1)

Comments on: "The Phoebe’s Story" (10)

  1. those crows certainly don’t relent when they want to drive a raptor from their territory. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, you are right about the veracity of the Crows! The battle is ongoing daily in my own neighborhood but I think the Red-shouldered Hawk here has the upper claw. : ) Have a wonderful Saturday tomorrow.

  2. Thank Goodness for the CROWS in our area also.. They do so much to protect the other birds from hawks…. Gotta love ’em!!!!!

    Glad the Phoebe is okay… You got some great photos.

    We are home from G’s birthday trip… Saw some ICY waterfalls in Ohio.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Hi All, I just fixed that problem with the center top picture of the Phoebe. Sorry. Wildlifewatcher

  4. I guess it is good to have the crows hanging around to chase off the hawks.. Luckily for your Phoebe, glad it was ok.. Great post and photos. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Eileen, I saw yet another hawk today but it was several miles from where I live. No shortage of large birds around this area. Three days ago, I spotted a wild Swan in a small ornamental pond at the local Jr. College. Imagine a white Swan walking around the lawn about fifteen feet from a major commercial highway road! Today I dropped by and that Swan was nowhere to be seen (did see 2 Muscovy Ducks and the hawk). Have a super day tomorrow!

  5. Hi! I am hosting a Nature Monday in my blog. I would love to see this beautiful picture there. Please http://easytocookmeals.com/nature-monday-party-1/

  6. I like Phoebes, they just showed up here in chilly central Ohio!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

