Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Swan Was Long Gone

A Mute Swan was spotted at a small  pond at the Central Florida College, in Ocala, Florida,  on March 12, 2014.  My husband and I were driving down the busy road in front of the college when I spotted the gorgeous white swan!  It is unusual to see a swan in this area.  The swan was paddling around the pond trying to find pond vegetation to eat.  After finishing our early supper downtown, we drove past the campus about an hour later.  I saw the swan nibbling on the lawn about fifteen feet from the highway!  I didn’t have a camera with me, and was unable get back to the campus the next day.

I returned to the college on Friday, with camera strapped on my neck, but the swan was gone.  I did however, see a pair of Muscovy Ducks and took several pictures of them.  While Muscovy Ducks are mostly domestic farm ducks, there are also wild flocks.  Muscovies are a mottled black, brown, and white and have a lot of red flesh on their faces.  The drakes have the brighter and larger fleshy red areas on their faces.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

DSC_0938DSC_0940DSC_0944

DSC_0930DSC_0954DSC_0956

Comments on: "The Swan Was Long Gone" (8)

  1. It is nice to still see the swan even though you did not get a photo.. Sorry 😦
    The ducks are cool. A little weird looking but still neat ducks.. Great shots. Have a happy day and week ahead!

  2. glad you got to see the swan. i love muscovies. we had a flock here that came and went – until we added our rescued hounds (thelma and louise). they eliminated them.

    • Hi Theresa, I have seen Muscovy Ducks at this pond before but probably not these same birds. It was perhaps 8 months ago when I last spotted the Muscovy Ducks and there was probably three of the ducks on that day. So, it is a way station pond. Likely that the Swan was just resting up and went on its way to other locales. Have a super nice St. Patrick’s Day!

  3. http://betsyfromtennessee.blogspot.com said:

    Neat ducks…. I’ve never seen Muscovy Ducks I don’t think… Very different looking.

    We saw mute swans while we were in Ohio last week. I’ll post photos sometime…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, So happy you sighted swans! I will look forward to seeing your pictures in future posts of your wonderful blog. Hope you are having OK weather today – I saw radar for FFG which looked very stormy yesterday. Have a great day tomorrow!

  4. Hi all, It has rained quite a lot last night and today so I was not surprised to see that pond very full – our ponds here are full now too. I did see 5 Muscovy Ducks there at the college as I drove by this afternoon. Guess the ducks are having a St. Patrick’s Day party! Ha! I also did see 4 Snowy Egrets on the big pond here in our development area near the “Woodpecker colony”. So, lots of birding today! Have a happy and safe rest of the day. Wildlifewatcher

  5. I like Muscovies- those are fine pictures of them!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

