Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Just Hanging Around!

DSC_1136

This Red-shouldered Hawk is now a resident of my immediate neighborhood.  It appears that this bold bird won the latest tiff with the Common Crows!  I have now seen this bird here across the street every day for the past week.  It is hanging around waiting for small rodents, frogs, lizards, or (oh my) songbirds to have for a meal.  That is nature.  I took these pictures on Friday, March 21, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

1DSC_1143

Comments on: "Just Hanging Around!" (4)

  1. i’ve had one or two hanging close to the pond around here, too. must be a good season for hunting.

    • Hi Theresa, Oh, I think so. I saw a male Northern Cardinal shivering with fright while hiding in a rather thin bush near where the hawk was perched. Have a super nice day today!

  2. Great photos of the Hawk! I hope it does not stay around for too long.. I feel for the songbirds. Have a happy week!

  3. Great photo! Not the best visitor to have in an area of songbirds though!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

