Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Finally, A Bald Eagle!

DSC_1363 - Version 2 (1)

Bald Eagle sightings really excite me.  I suppose that this is something not too unusual for people who enjoy the out of doors and bird watching.  I have now lived here in Central Florida for a year and this weekend marks the first time I have seen a Bald Eagle here.  My husband and I went up the road to the Paynes Prairie State Preserve overlook on the state highway, near Micanopy and Gainesville, Florida (I have posted about this place several times) on Saturday, April 5, 2014.

I was busily looking at one of the six Alligators (no wading birds – gee, I wonder why???) when this Bald Eagle flew right over my head and then flew across the highway and perched up in a large electric line tower.  That eagle just sat there for about at least 20 minutes watching us and scanning the area for a tasty rodent, fish, smaller bird or other animal to make a meal out of.  The eagle was still there when we left.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1370 - Version 2 (1)

DSC_1394 (2)DSC_1379 (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Finally, A Bald Eagle!" (6)

  1. congratulations! i’d be thrilled to see one in the wild!

  2. Cool sighting! Glad to see that you have them there too!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, Florida has several nice areas where Bald Eagles apparently do quite well. There supposedly is a Bald Eagle in the area fairly close to this development where I now live but I have never spotted it. Have a great Tuesday tomorrow!

  3. Congrats on your eagle sighting! They are awesome to see in the wild! Great shots!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks so much. I had seen Bald Eagles up in Crossvillle, TN where I once lived, and of course also in Alaska, but I had to be patient about Florida it seems. My wait was rewarded. Have a super good Wed. tomorrow and thanks for your great comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

