Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_1357

Alligators made themselves quite present in the two foot deep waters of the marsh at the Paynes Prairie State Preserve near Gainesville, Florida on Saturday, April 5, 2014.  I was there late in the afternoon when I spotted five adult and one older juvenile American Alligators.  I would not be surprised if there were many more Alligators around as I heard many bellow-like grunts from all over the acres.

This park is a very large place with most of the area I was near, swampy marshland.  It had rained several days earlier and the area looked flooded.  I think it is breeding season for the Alligators.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the thumbnail image.  Enjoy!

DSC_1404 - Version 2DSC_1405DSC_1359 (1)

 

Comments on: "Paynes Prairie State Preserve ‘Gators" (6)

  1. neat creatures!

    • Hi Theresa, The most impressive thing about the Alligators I saw and heard, was that these animals are stealthy and graceful for their large size and awkward shape. They hide well. Have a good afternoon and evening! Thanks for your always nice comments!

  2. I like seeing the gators, they seem to have a healthy population in Florida!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, but these were the first I had seen in the year I have lived here in FL. Glad that this large park is home to animals that are thriving there! Thanks for your wishes and same to you.

  3. BTW, have a great evening and enjoy the rest of your week!

  4. Now those will provide some more variation to your catalog of critters! Really cool to have them around where you can see them! I envy that!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

