Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Lesser Yellowlegs

Lesser Yellowlegs

Several Killdeer, a couple of Lesser Yellow Legs and a Mottled Duck were all visitors to the large rainfall retention pond near the gate of our development.  This particular large basin is almost drying up.  This basin is quite close to an area where recent construction has just finished.  The poor Mottled Duck was paddling around in a small but deep puddle at the edge of this basin.

There are  three of these larger basin ponds around this housing development, so I often check on which ponds have visiting critters.  I took these pictures on Wednesday morning, April 23, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!  P.S.  So sorry about how late I have posted this today.  I was invited on a day-long pontoon boat ride and wildlife photo extravaganza so just got home.

 

Killdeer

Killdeer

Mottled Duck

Mottled Duck

Killdeer

Killdeer

Comments on: "Views of the Rainfall Retention Pond" (6)

  1. the mottled duck is cute. we’ve had a greater yellow legs here at our pond a couple of times.

  2. Great birds and images. The Yellowlegs and Killdeers are so cute! I am not sure if I have seen a Mottled Duck, maybe during my Florida vacation.. Enjoy your evening and the weekend.

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! Yes, the Mottled Ducks are mainly found near the Gulf of Mexico. I really liked seeing these birds here. By the way, just a few minutes ago, I saw a Bald Eagle flying over the front entrance of our development! First one close to home. Have an excellent weekend!

  3. Oh My Goodness… Bet your pontoon ride was AWESOME. Bet you also got a lot of great photos today!!!! I’m jealous!!!

    Like Eileen, I’m not sure I’ve seen a Mottled Duck before… BUT–my good news is that I have finally been seeing some hummingbirds around here this week. No photos yet…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Those ponds actually have two purposes, don’t they! I’m sure the birds appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

