Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

 

DSC_1990

DSC_1750 - Version 3

DSC_1730

Cormorants, Great Blue Herons, a Limpkin, Turtles, a Little Blue Heron,  and Moorhens were all active and easily spotted at the Haynes Creek Canal in Lake County, Florida near Eustis, Mt. Dora and Tavares.  This creek has a canal portion with a lock.  It was a lot of fun to go through the lock. This is called the Burrell Lock and Dam.  It is between Lake Garnett and Lake Eustis.  It may be best to inquire ahead about open hours and boat sizes if desiring to transit this lock.

This canal is just teaming with wildlife!  I have also been told that the fishing is good here as well.   Haynes Creek has a lot of Water Lilies and aquatic plants.  The area is mostly wilderness but once in a while there are homes or a small marina, along the creek.  I took these pictures on Friday, April 25, 2014.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1758

DSC_1729DSC_2018

DSC_2026DSC_2028

Comments on: "Haynes Creek Canal & Burrell Lock" (9)

  1. pretty bunch. love the moorhen.

  2. Great group of birds—and what a neat place to visit… I’m sure the birds love it in that area —AND I’ll bet the fishermen do also!!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, This area is about 50 miles S.E. of my home. It was the first time I had been in this area. It is a lovely wild place. It would be best seen from a power boat in spots due to the Alligators. Have a great Thursday tomorrow.

  3. Looks like an awesome place to spot the birds. Wonderful collection of birds and I love the turtle too.

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I liked being there very much. We had great weather going but it did get windy in the afternoon. I so appreciated being invited to go with my friends on their boat. Seeing the wildlife from the water was different and really nice. Have a fine day tomorrow!

  4. There are lots of large birds there. That would be very interesting.

    • Hi Montucky, I had never seen so much wildlife in just a few mile stretch as I did on this voyage. I so enjoyed the wild areas. Yes, there is civilization encroaching but not badly so yet. Hope that stays the status quo. Have a great day tomorrow!

  5. I love the picture of the turtle! Looks like a beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

