Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Small Songbirds

Tufted Titmouse

Tufted Titmouse

Tufted Titmice, a lone Carolina Chickadee, a solitary male Northern Cardinal, and a mystery bird, likely a Palm Warbler but maybe it is a Blue-headed Vireo, were all spotted in the last week here near my home in Marion County, Florida.

That Northern Cardinal was sitting on the top of what I used to refer to as “The Woodpecker Colony” in a seldom used cattle pasture near one of the entrance gates to this housing development.  The Titmice are residents of the yards here at my house and the Chickadee is a frequent visitor.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Palm Warbler?  Vireo?

Palm Warbler? Blue-headed Vireo?

Palm Warbler?  Blue-headed Vireo?

Palm Warbler? Blue-headed Vireo?

 

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

Carolina Chickadee

Carolina Chickadee

 

Comments on: "Small Songbirds" (9)

  1. I think the best birds in the world are the ones who live close to us, the ones we get to see every day.

  2. i love the sweet little ones. don’t get the palm warblers here, but enjoy the other ones.

  3. You know me and my interest!!! Those are ‘my kind’ of birds… I love my Backyard Birds —so of course, I love your post today listing so many of the ones we have here.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, we sure do share a number of birds between FL and TN. I have never seen a Northern Yellow-shafted Flicker, a Dark-eyed Junco, or a Cowbird here but have seen most of the others. Have a pleasant Thursday tomorrow!

  4. A nice variety for neighborhood yardbirds. Have a happy week ahead!

  5. I am sorry I have not left a comment in while. We’ve been so busy here, that even birding has slowed down a little. I’ve been planting and tending some natives and also garden veggies. Today, I finally get to clean up the “greenhouse”- our upstairs bathroom.

    Your mystery bird is probably a Great Crested Flycatcher. We see those often, but not yet at home. The Palm Warbler will have a distinct rusty crown and the Blue-headed Vireo looks like he is wearing spectacles

    • Hi Birding Bunch, So happy to hear from you! I am thrilled that you identified my mystery bird. I had never seen a Great Crested Flycatcher so it is nice to know that now I have. Yes, I should have remembered about the glasses on the Blue-headed Vireo. Thanks! Have a wonderful Sunday tomorrow and a nice coming week.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

