Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Purple Martins

DSC_2195 - Version 2

Purple Martins are among the larger of the Swallows.  These Purple Martins are small birds which are experts at catching flying insects.  Many people in the United States put up gourd bird houses mounted on tall poles for the Purple Martins.  These birds enjoy nesting in this type of home, and like group living.  Originally the gourds were hollowed-out dried Calabash or Bird House Gourds, but now many people are using plastic  gourd-shaped houses.  This style of bird house grouping is often called a “Bird condo”.

I took these pictures in my development near one of the golf courses and one of the more natural rainfall retention ponds.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  I’ll be taking a blog break for the month of June.   I look forward to returning in July refreshed, and with new stories and pictures to share.  See you then!

DSC_2197DSC_2209DSC_2205

Comments on: "Purple Martins" (9)

  1. i’d imagine those plastic gourds would be much easier to clean and maintain between seasons that the traditional wooden martin houses of yore.

    • Hi Theresa, I believe you are correct as the plastic is easily cleaned and would likely last a bit longer than the natural, painted or shellacked gourds. Have a tremendous weekend!

  2. I wish I saw the Purple Martins in my neighborhood.. They are great for eating the bugs.. Thanks for sharing, enjoy your break!

  3. I see these Purple Martin houses ALOT when we travel… But–other than seeing them, I don’t know much about those birds at all.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. The Birding Bunch said:

    Very nice photos.

    We thought about putting up a Martin house, but we live in Great Horned Owl territory and heard they can do serious damage to a colony. We already have Tree and Barn Swallows nesting here. My husband and son just built a Northern Rough-winged Swallow house. We see them in the area too. I need to go back out and get it “muddy”. You know what is funny about this house…. it uses a Martin gourd.

    I am not able to post on my blog right now. They updated something and they say it is my browser. 😦 I wanted to write about the Rough-winged swallow box. I have a birding mailing list, would you like to be a part of it? Just email me from the address with this comment and I can add you to it, if you want.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Thanks for your kindness in helping me with bird I.D. and tips about birding. You are a peach! Hope your browser issues get resolved for good! Have a pleasant coming week and thanks again.

  5. Have a great time on your time off!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

