Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Boar Grizzly Bear

DSC_2935

This male Grizzly Bear was spotted in Yellowstone National Park early in the morning on June 15, 2014.  The bear was meandering around between a wooded area of standing dead burned Pines and a cleared meadow.  We were photographing this bear from the roadway but were a good distance from the magnificent bruin.  My husband and I were on an excellent early morning guided photo tour in the park that we booked through the park concessionaire.

I saw seven different Grizzlies in the five days I was at the park.  I have been told that the bears were at lower elevations because it was early in the Summer.  It was  however, quite cold.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2940DSC_2977DSC_2972

Comments on: "A Boar Grizzly Bear" (11)

  1. a gorgeous, huge beast!

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, he was exactly that! I was happy to be fairly far away from him while observing his activity. Our guide was so great in that he knew where specific bears liked to be out and about. I highly recommend taking a guided tour (limited to 7 participants usually for the photo tours).

  2. I love bears ….

    • Hi Bearyweather, I was thinking of you when I spotted the first of seven Grizzly Bears on this trip. Glad you enjoy this post! Have a great weekend!

  3. Didn’t you just love Yellowstone. As much as I enjoyed the wildlife, my favorite things there were –as you probably can guess—all of the waterfalls… WOW!!!! Love your bear photos. He was a big one!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, loved the falls! That was a big Grizzly for sure. I will post a few pictured of Yellowstone’s gorgeous scenery at some point here – did not take many landscape shots though. I tried to concentrate on photographing animals. Have a super good weekend!

  4. They are gorgeous ears, awesome shots! I love Yellowstone! Happy weekend!

  5. Hi Eileen, Yellowstone is a treasure as are the Grizzly Bears and Black Bears. Have a great weekend!

  6. It’s very good that they can safely be seen there!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, the Rangers do occasionally put areas temporarily “Off limits” to people when bears are known to be congregating or the Rangers think the bears would be of harm to people. I am glad we do have spaces where Grizzly Bears can thrive! Have an excellent weekend!

  7. We also were cautioned by the guides about keeping a safe distance from all animals (there also are safe distance measurements listed in written materials given to all visitors to Yellowstone). Wildlifewatcher

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

