Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Yellow-belly Marmot

Yellow-belly Marmot

 

Yellow-belly Marmot

Yellow-belly Marmot

 

 

Yellow-belly Marmots

Yellow-belly Marmots

Marmots, a Jack Rabbit, Prairie Dogs, and a Golden Mantle Ground Squirrel were all recently spotted in South Dakota and in Wyoming.  I snapped these pictures of various (really cute) rodents while on my vacation in Custer State Park, South Dakota and in the magnificent Yellowstone National Park.  I saw what looks like a Snow-shoe Hare (?) in its Summer fur at our campground in Hill City, South Dakota.  There were plenty of perky Prairie Dogs along the Wildlife Loop Road in Custer State Park.  I enjoyed seeing those a lot!

A very swift and oh-so-cute, Golden Mantle Ground Squirrel (the chipmunk-looking rodent) was seen scurrying back and forth on the rocks and trail at one of the overlooks at the Yellowstone National Park’s canyon and Yellowstone Falls.  The last little critters I photographed, were a pair of sweet Yellow-belly Marmots that were quite interested in what I was up to.  All are furry, beautiful little animals and quite photogenic!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Prairie Dog

Prairie Dog

Snowshoe Hare

Jack Rabbit

Prairie Dog

Prairie Dog

Comments on: "Little Critters Out West" (8)

  1. oh my gosh! marmots are so CUTE!

    • Hi Theresa, I sure enjoyed the brief time I spent observing the village of Marmots. We were on a scheduled tour so time was very limited. Yes these are totally adorable little animals! Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Hi Linda, I hope you will ‘jump ship’ (and expand your blog theme)—and show us more of what you saw and did in Yellowstone…. I love that area –and the critters are just a tiny piece of it….

    The Marmots are adorable though.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I concentrated on photographing animals while I was there. Yes I did take a few scenic pictures which I will post at a later time. The weather was quite cold rainy and snowy while I was there, so that also kept my hiking to a minimum. It hovered around 38-40 F. most days I was there (snowy and only thankfully, a bit of ice). We camped in our trailer which has a good heater (hooray!). Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Oh these are all adorable critters.. I love the prairie dogs and the cute hare.. The Marmot reminds me of our groundhogs in our backyard. Great shots, happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I think that the Marmots are a close cousin to the Groundhog or Woodchuck. The Prairie Dogs in Custer State Park (and a lot of places in S. Dakota) were very social and oh-so-cute. Have a really pleasant weekend and thanks for all of your great comments.

  4. Those are great photos of the marmots. I think that might be a jack rabbit rather than a snowshoe though.

    • Hi Montucky, Thanks for that rabbit I.D. – my mistake. I agree and it was probably pregnant or one of the larger of the Jack Rabbits! Glad you like the pictures of the Marmots. Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

