Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3418

This pair of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks are the first “Whistlers” I have ever seen in person.  I have been virtually observing the antics of Whistlers via my blog friend Tex’s blog, “The Run Around Ranch Blog”, and have always wanted to see these comical, lovely, smart wild ducks myself.  I had read that Whistling Ducks do live in Florida but I had never spotted any in the past year that I’ve lived here.  My luck changed on Saturday, July 19, 2014 when I saw this cute pair.  These ducks were paddling on a small pond in a pasture at a local race horse farm.  I saw three of the Whistlers last evening on this same pond (23 July 2014), shown first row below.

Whistling Ducks have upright posture, are a Cinnamon brown color and have a pink bill, pink legs, pink feet, with white and black wings. They have a black belly and a faint black stripe down the back of their head.  Their calls are whistling sounds, which probably are similar to but a little stronger whistle sound, than Wood Ducks.  I took these pictures from behind a tallish wooden rail fence along the roadway.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  I hope you have enjoyed this surprise – I sure did!  Sorry this is posted a bit late today.  I had to have an Internet tech come and do repairs to the cable system (three buildings had a similar outage here last night and this AM).  So back to normal now.

DSC_3511

DSC_3509

DSC_3494

 

DSC_3419DSC_3426DSC_3421

Comments on: "Surprise! I’ve Sighted Whistling Ducks!" (12)

  1. i am just grinning ear to ear while reading your post. 😀 so glad you’re able to find them, now! i just love these silly characters!

    • Hi Theresa, My hubby thought I was really losing it when I jumped for joy at the sight! Ha! Just kidding. So happy though! I think there is a small flock of the Whistlers in that neighborhood as i saw 3 more in flight at dusk last evening in the area near that horse farm’s pond. Have a wonderful rest of the week!

  2. Beautiful ducks and photos!

  3. Red bill and feet make them very unique looking.

    • Hi Bearyweather, The bill and feet are strikingly pretty. Bright pinkish-red in color. They are upright walkers too, which also makes these ducks unusual. Have a fine day tomorrow!

  4. What a great find! I’ve never seen them.

    • Hi Montucky, I think that these ducks have a smallish geographic range in the USA. I hope you also will one day see some Whistlers in person. Have an outstanding Thursday tomorrow and thanks for your always welcomed comments!

  5. My favorite ducks, they are so darn cute.. I am so happy you found them in Florida! Great shots! Have a happy day!

  6. Whistlers always make me smile… Such cutie-pie-type-birds!!!! Glad you saw them… I can imagine how happy you were…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

