Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3147

These Elk were spotted in Yellowstone National Park while I was there last month.  I saw the two bull or male Elk sitting down beside some trees in a clearing not far off of a road.  I took these pictures while on a photo tour with an experienced guide.  These Elk seemed to be sleepy which makes sense as it was about 6:15 AM when I took the photographs.  During the mating season, bull Elk will use their antlers as battering rams and will butt heads with rivals during fights in order to win their mate (s).  The bulls shed their antlers every fall and will re-grow the huge antler racks during the next Spring.  Elk eat grasses mostly and also will occasionally munch on other low vegetation.

By the way, I saw very few Elk during this trip compared with my last trip back in August of 2011.  The Elk herds  last month may just have been in other districts of the huge park.   There were several Grizzly Bears in the same area I was taking pictures, so that is yet another reason why I likely was not seeing many Elk.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3182DSC_3138 (1)DSC_3177

Comments on: "Elk in Yellowstone National Park" (8)

  1. such gorgeous beasts!

  2. I love seeing them. I saw one on a short hike yesterday. Amazing animals!

  3. We saw lots of elk… One place I remember vividly was at Mammoth Hot Springs… There was a MAD Bull Elk (in heat BIGTIME) —and the police were hollering for people to get out of the street (since he was mad and would have attacked them)… We happily stood at a distance–but some people are SO stupid!!!!! Did you get there?
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • HI Betsy, No, I think that Mammoth Hot Springs was one of the major spots we did not get to. It was quite cold, raining and at times, “Wintery mix” was happening as well as snow. So, we did not take to the roads a lot. Have a super good day tomorrow!

  4. The elk are awesome animals.. The males in Yellowstone seemed huge to me.. Great post and photos. Enjoy your new week!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I have see Elk in Northern Califoriia, in Jackson Hole, and at Yellowstone. The bulls at Yellowstone are quite large. Have a fabulous day tomorrow and thanks for your always great comments.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

