Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Hawk Calls

DSC_3668

This Red-shouldered Hawk was perched in a small rather open tree across the street from my home on Wednesday, July 30, 2014.    The wonderful bird of prey was ignoring me and was busily calling to another hawk in the area.  I faintly heard the response since that other hawk was a long way away.

I think the hawk I photographed was not hungry either.  I was closer to the bird than I usually have been (far enough away to keep from disturbing the bird) and the bird did not pause or get flighty or leave.  I am glad to have gotten these close-up views to share with you here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3675DSC_3681DSC_3679

Comments on: "Hawk Calls" (10)

  1. love these beauties. i sometimes get faked out by blue jays imitating the hawk cries. 🙂

  2. Hi, Hubby saw a hawk GRAB something yesterday morning from our big Redbud tree in the front yard… He couldn’t tell what the hawk ‘got’ –but I’ll bet is was one of our MANY Mourning Doves. We have more Doves this year than we have ever had… In some ways I am sorry about that since we have seldom had any hawks around here .. But–they will go where the Doves are I’ve heard!!!!

    Great pictures of your hawk. They are beautiful birds.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, likely that hawk hunted a dove. I am seeing a decline in small birds lizards rabbits and squirrels here in my neighborhood now that the hawk has made this block its home. Have a great weekend! Hope your weather is fine. Hot here.

  3. Awesome shots of the hawk.. Cool you captured the calling.. Have a great evening and weekend ahead!

    • Thanks Eileen, I enjoyed observing and hearing the hawk. Saw a few wading birds today at the only pond here in the development with water in it. I’ll post on Monday. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. You did get close to that guy! I enjoy hearing their calls.

    • Hi Montucky, My husband alerted me in that he had heard the hawk from inside our home. I grabbed the camera and went out to take these pictures. I am glad I did. It was a rare chance to get pretty close to an untrained wild hawk. So glad you like hearing hawks like I do. Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. Lucky you .. they never sit still for me to get that close.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

