Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3117

This Osprey nest was up on a rocky outcrop in the magnificent Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone near Yellowstone Falls in Yellowstone National Park.  The Ospreys had a very secure nest didn’t they?  This area is a huge deep broad natural river canyon across from the big waterfall on the Yellowstone River.

The pair of Osprey seemed to be doting parents of two chicks.  I was quite a ways from this nest and used my long 500mm lens to take the pictures.  Sorry you are really unable to make out the babies in this nest but yes, they were there.  I took the picture while on a guided photo tour on June 15, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of that photo.  Enjoy!

DSC_3105DSC_3114 - Version 2DSC_3090

Comments on: "Osprey Nest in Yellowstone Canyon at the Falls" (9)

  1. That is a much better spot for a nest. We have a huge osprey nest on top of the light pole on the high school football/track field.
    It is illegal to remove an osprey nest, so it has been there for a number of years … and grows bigger each Spring as they fly over like bombers dropping new sticks into it. (and they miss or they bounce out often)

    • Hi Bearyweather, How interesting and oh so inconvenient for your school. I have seen this kind of nesting here in Florida on electric poles. Some areas do put up nesting platforms on the top of tall poles to encourage the Osprey and Eagles to nest. Thanks for your wonderful comment. Have a super day and I hope you have a great coming school year!

  2. how very neat!

    • Hi Theresa, I sure wish I was closer to the nest but it was like Bearyweather stated, a good place for the nest. I used my long 500 mm lens and barely had a satisfactory picture. Many were using a spotting scope to get a look at the nest. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Glad you had your really long lens for that photo!!!! Birds do build nests in interesting places, don’t they? I will post a Bird Blog on Monday –showing some of my latest photos of our Birdies here.

    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Cool spot to watch the Ospreys at their nest. The waterfalls is gorgeous. I loved it there. Great shots. Happy weekend to you!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, I did do some sight-seeing with gorgeous waterfalls, the canyon, rivers, lake, and of course the geothermal features. I thoroughly enjoyed Yellowstone and would go back often if it was feasible. Have a most pleasant weekend!

  5. I think that’s the best place for an Osprey nest that I’ve seen! Nice pictures!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

