Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Sand Hill Cranes

DSC_4533

I spotted these Sand Hill Cranes feeding in a field next to a farm pond on N. Highway 41, a few miles North of Dunnellon, Florida.  This group of cranes was a small flock of about six birds.

In Florida, many Sand Hill Cranes are migratory visitors during the Winter, but there are a few resident flocks in this state.  Sand Hill Cranes mostly eat grains. These birds are often seen in grassy fields.  I took these pictures on September 14, 2014 from inside the cab of our pick-up truck as we were briefly stopped on the side of the road.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_4540DSC_4527

Comments on: "Sand Hill Cranes" (7)

  1. I love the sandhill cranes, they are cool birds. Wonderful shots and sighting. Have a happy Monday!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! What made this particular sighting so nice was that it was unexpected. I had the camera in the car because I had planned to visit the farthest rainfall retention basin in our own development on the way home from an errand. Hubby wanted to go for a drive in the country and that is when I spotted the birds. Had hubby go back to that spot and I quickly snapped a few photographs. Have a super good week!

  2. Hi LInda, I probably have said this before, but when I see Sandhill Cranes, I think of my Texas son. He sees the Sandhill Cranes down there (near Galveston) when they are migrating…. In fact, some of them stay there during the winter… Such beautiful birds.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Wow, it’s so nice to see them!

    • Hi Montucky, It is wonderful to spot them. I was watching the beautiful scenery go by and saw the birds and knew immediately what they were. I just had to stop and get pictures. Good thing my hubby knows I love birds. Have a super great day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

