Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_5522

I saw this hen Wild Turkey strolling alone,  next to the road in an empty horse pasture near Ocala, FL, on November 4, 2014.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_5527DSC_5515DSC_5518

Comments on: "Almost Wordless Wednesday: Wild Turkey" (8)

  1. she’s so CUTE!!! i’d love to see a wild turkey here. never have, though.

    • Hi Theresa, I never saw any Wild Turkeys when I lived in Hunt County, TX back many years ago. I hope you do get a visit – these Wild Turkeys are surprisingly stout birds. I was amazed at how tall and chunky they are. Have a wonderful Thurs. tomorrow!

  2. I used to love having turkeys around but after having several families of them terrorize our property for a couple of years I’m now very glad they’re gone. Still fun to see them in the woods though.

    • Hi Montucky, I can see your viewpoint. This bird was big and as far as my encounter, pretty docile but that would be iffy. She looked like if she wanted to, she could be pretty rowdy. I can think that a flock would be hard on one’s garden/yard. Have a great evening and a good day tomorrow. Many thanks for your always nice comments!

  3. Cute photo, I love see her peeking over the fence.. Great sighting.. Have a happy day!

  4. I live in Michigan and we currently have a flock of about twenty female wild turkeys that visit the area near our house. ( I live by the woods.) They are very common in this area, and I have seen males as well. They kick up dead leaves in the woods but don’t do any damage around the house. They often walk single file. At least in this area, they are very peaceful birds, I just get a peaceful feeling from watching them.
    P.S. Great photos!

    • Hi Cynthia, I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying seeing that flock of Wild Turkeys where you live. I think these big birds are interesting and I am always happy to see them. Welcome to the blog! Thanks for your nice comment. Have a fine weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

