Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Views of a Ranch Pond

DSC_5494 - Version 2

A flock of Mottled Duck hens, a juvenile American White Ibis, an Anhinga, a Great Egret, and a small shorebird, were all spotted at a local Ocala horse ranch pond on November 4, 2014.  I took these pictures from the road and used my long lens as the pond was quite a ways from the pavement.  This particular pond was just down the road from where I had seen the Wild Turkey a bit earlier.

I had to look at my photographs on the computer to actually tell that there was a very young Ibis there at that pond.  I also was startled by a Great Blue Heron in the tree right above my head.  That heron quickly flew off  before I could get any pictures.   Florida will soon be receiving many more migratory birds visiting for our very mild Winter climate.  I look forward to seeing these birds in coming weeks!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture. Enjoy!

 

DSC_5471 (1)DSC_5504DSC_5476

 

 

DSC_5488DSC_5473DSC_5469

 

Comments on: "Views of a Ranch Pond" (8)

  1. a nice ‘busy’ pond it is!

    • Hi Theresa, it seems to be a tremendous spot in late Fall and I hope, Winter. It is now on my “Check it” list of places to bird watch and critter spot. Hoping you’ll have a wonderful weekend!!

  2. The birds love that Ranch Pond, don’t they??? AND–I’m glad you can get their easily and get good pictures to share with us….

    Still working on getting up the leaves here…. Lots of Work!!!!! ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, It is a bit of a drive from our place but not too far. We enjoy the scenic drive through lush countryside with many top end horse farms. The ponds are stock ponds but are now hosting wild birds, if not busy with horses or cattle. Have a great weekend!

  3. There is a nice variety of birds seen at this pond.. A great spot for birding.. Wonderful photos. Have a great evening and weekend ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I think that this road will prove to be a consistently good place to spot birds and wildlife. I once even saw a wild monkey (no kidding) on one of the pasture fences lining this narrow country lane. It is a beautiful place so I don’t mind the drive (about 10 miles from us +-). Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. You will be busy when the winter crews start to arrive! That will be interesting!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

