Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Migrating Mergansers

DSC_6647

A flock of Hooded Mergansers was among several other pond-dwelling birds when I was taking these pictures on December 12, 2014 near Ocala, FL.  I have taken many pictures around this ranch pond in the past and think it is a very nice spot for wildlife watching.  This pond is near where I have seen Mottled Ducks and a Wild Turkey in the last couple of months.

These Hooded Mergansers are migratory Winter visitors here in Marion County, Florida.  They are diving ducks and mostly eat fish, turtles, frogs, and larger insects.  The drakes have the white and black hood and the hens are a pretty cinnamon brown in color.  Both genders raise this hood when alert or when signaling danger to each other.  I really enjoy spotting Hooded Mergansers!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_6645 - Version 2DSC_6633DSC_6656

 

DSC_6646 - Version 2DSC_6655DSC_6641

Comments on: "Migrating Mergansers" (7)

  1. how neat! what a great group! i’ve only been fortunate to see a pair or maybe 3 at a time stop in here. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, I am guessing there were about fifteen Hooded Mergansers at the pond there when I was watching. So happy you have had these ducks at your ranch pond. Nice. Have a great day today!

  2. They are so pretty and one of my favorite ducks! Great shots.. Enjoy your evening and the new week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks! I so like watching big birds like ducks, egrets, herons, Ibis and the like. By the way, I have had a tiny bit of trouble with Blogger sites lately with wordpress I.D. verification. Hope all is OK with my comments on your blog. Have a fantastic Wed. tomorrow!

  3. You sure have some wonderful waterfowl there! Great photos!

  4. Hi All, In coming days I will post some pictures I took late yesterday afternoon of Wood Storks at this pond. Also saw Mottled Ducks; the Hooded Mergansers; a Great Egret; a Little Blue Heron; and a pair of Sand Hill Cranes. This pond is a tremendous place for bird watching right now!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

