Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_8551DSC_8590DSC_8552

These Wood Storks were spotted along with a truly stunning assortment of waterfowl and wading birds at the  Tuscawilla Park near downtown Ocala, Florida on January 15, 2015.  This park is a rather traditional older city park with a quiet roadway running in-between the two large ponds in the park.   I saw hundreds of wild wading birds and ducks while I was there, including White Ibis; Great Egrets; Whistling Ducks; Coots; Common Cormorants; and younger American White Pelicans!

All of these birds I mention, are migratory visitors to the park.  These birds did seem calm around people, and looked like they are used to the visitors this neighborhood park with playground and community center, attracts.  I kept an appropriate distance but did get pretty good close up views using my long lens.  The Wood Storks though calm and friendly here, are considered rare and threatened.  The Wood Storks were once on the Endangered Species Lists here in the U.S.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_8546DSC_8589DSC_8575

 

DSC_8388DSC_8439DSC_8463

Comments on: "Wood Storks at a Park in Ocala, FL" (8)

  1. it’s like watching a prehistoric being strolling along during present times. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, it was pretty interesting but did have an unreal aura about it. I am wild about Wood Storks and really enjoy observing them. Yes, quite prehistoric-looking. Have a fine day today and thanks for your always great comments!

  2. I really enjoy seeing your photos of a bird that I will probably never get to see otherwise. What an interesting creature!

    • Hi Montucky, Thanks! I think the Wood Storks are absolutely wonderful and surprisingly calm, big birds. I am thankful that I get to see them in the wild. Have a fun and enjoyable weekend!

  3. The wood storks are cool birds, I loved seeing them while I was in Florida.. Great shots, happy weekend!

  4. Thank you for your blog and photographs! I went for a walk with my 85-year-old mother today at Tuscawilla Park in Ocala FL, then came home and did a Google search for Florida waterfowl, in hopes of identifying some of the many birds we were grateful to see today. Thrilled to identify the two impressive wood storks we saw for the first time in our lives today (we are West Virginia natives), and there were many ibis and varieties of ducks there today as well – – such a joy. We often walk at Shalom Park off of State Road 200, but the variety of birds are slim, perhaps due to pesticide use, as well as the smaller body of water there. Shalom Park used to have a small rookery near the pond with two Great Blue Heron nests, each nest on opposite sides of the pond, though sadly I haven’t seen the Great Blue Herons at that location in about a year. Many thanks again for your photos of the Wood Storks at Tuscawilla Park in Ocala.

    • Hi Debra, I am so glad you enjoy the blog! I used to live in the Ocala area close to Sholom Park so I am very familiar with it. I have posted pictures I took there in the last couple of years here on the blog but did not specifically name that park. I think I even posted pictures of that Great Blue Heron nest (sad it is no more). Same with Great Horned Owlets. I think you are right about the very beautiful Sholom Park – less wildlife and more botanical. Tuscawilla is a gem in the months of Jan. and Feb. with a lot of different ducks, and wading birds – even Bald Eagles at times! Glad you like that park. Have a super good week! Welcome to the blog!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

