Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

White Ibis

White Ibis

 

White Pelicans

White Pelicans

Common Cormorants

Common Cormorant

 

While I was at Tuscawilla Park in Ocala on Jan. 15, 2015, I saw a lot more birds than just the Wood Storks.  I was thrilled by seeing many American White Ibis, at least twenty American White Pelicans, a few Common Coots, a lot of Common Cormorants, and a Great Egret or two.  Yes, I also saw about a hundred Black Bellied Whistling Ducks (I’ll save those pictures of Whistlers for another post).  There also were several resident park ducks such as Muscovy Ducks and Pekin Ducks.

The sheer number of large birds at this older city park was amazing!   I believe that there are (or were) many fish in the two ponds as the park has a catch and release fishing policy.  Nearly all of these birds are migratory visitors to the park.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!

Common Cormorant

Common Cormorant

Common Coot

Common Coot

Ibis and Sea Gull (brown and white Ibis is a juvenile)

White Ibis and Sea Gull (brown and white Ibis is a juvenile)

 

White Pelicans with a Common Cormorant

White Pelicans with a Common Cormorant

Great Egret and White Pelican

Great Egret and White Pelican

American White Ibis

American White Ibis

Comments on: "Birds at Tuscawilla Park, Ocala, FL" (8)

  1. The number and diversity of the birds there is impressive. I especially like the photo of the large pod of Pelicans!

    • Hi Montucky, I thought the squad of Pelicans moving together across the water was pretty neat, too. They were very young but almost adult. Have a fantastic day today!

  2. Wow, this park looks like a great place to see a variety of birds… I love the Pelicans.. The White Ibis are pretty too. Great collection of photos. Have a happy day!

    • Hi Eileen, That day (Jan. 15th) was the first time I had ever been to that park. I think I may drive by and see the park several times each Winter and Spring and Summer to see what birds may have been visiting. Have a wonderful day today!

  3. loved these – the pelicans are so cool. but your note about the whistlers made me smile as i’m listening to about 125 of them squabbling outside my window for scratch feed as i type this. 🙂

  4. Wow Linda… You found a great place to see lots of different birds, didn’t you? I love the pelicans… Gorgeous.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad to hear from you and I hope your knee is a lot better. Yes, this park and our area seem to be just loaded with birds. Have a super good day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

