Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_9229 - Version 2

Wood Ducks and Hooded Mergansers were among the many migratory birds I saw at Tuscawilla Park in Ocala, FL, on January 20, 2015, and January 23, 2015.  One of the hen Wood Ducks was unusually light colored, a “Leucastic” coloring.

There were just a handful of each of the Wood Ducks and the Hooded Mergansers among the throng of Black Bellied Whistling Ducks and a few domestic Muscovy and Pekin Ducks that are year around park ducks.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_9123DSC_8990DSC_8885

Comments on: "Wood Ducks and Hooded Mergansers at Tuscawilla Park" (7)

  1. Very nice photos of the wood ducks! They are so pretty. We see them here in summer, but now there are just a few geese, Mallards and Goldeneyes.

    • Hi Montucky, Oh, I would love to see a Goldeneye some day. I never have had the pleasure of seeing one. Have a fabulous Wednesday!

      • Goldeneyes come in here about this time each winter and feed through a riffle that is about a half mile long in the river below my house. They start at the head of the riffle and feed as they drift down through it, then their wings whistle as they fly back to the upper end. It is enchanting to watch and listen to them.

  2. oh, that leucastic hen is remarkable!!! like a snowy beauty queen!

    • Hi Theresa, It is a striking bird. This is the first one I had seen. I knew what the coloring was because of reading about Leucastic Blue Jays several years ago. Yes, it is a snowy beauty queen! Good description. Have a wonderful day today!

  3. Wonderful shots of the ducks.. The Mergansers are one of my favorite but the Wood Ducks are very pretty. The Leucastic duck is a cool sighting.. Great photos, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, Thank you! The first time I was at Tuscawilla Park I only saw 2 Wood Ducks. The last time I was there, I saw this small flock and that is when I took the photographs. I like both kinds of ducks a lot. I also saw a single pair of Hooded Mergansers two days ago at the horse ranch pond up in N.W. Marion County. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

