Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Songbirds & Hawks Don’t Mix

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumped Warbler

I think having two, and perhaps three, hawks  now patrolling the trees here on my street, has a lot to do with my not having seen many songbirds here lately.  I saw these two hawks (Likely Red-shouldered Hawks) yesterday in two adjacent trees across the street from my home.

DSC_0533

DSC_0539

I did see a few Palm Warblers, a Yellow-rumped Warbler, and a cute Tufted Titmouse around the yard here on Wednesday,  Feb. 19, 2015.

I also am including a picture of a male Red-winged Blackbird that I spotted at a small marsh up across the road from the horse ranch pond where I often go to do bird watching.  I saw that Blackbird on Feb. 18, 2015.  I do not see Blackbirds here in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Tufted Titmouse

Tufted Titmouse

Male Red-winged Blackbird

Male Red-winged Blackbird

Palm Warbler

Palm Warbler

Comments on: "Songbirds & Hawks Don’t Mix" (8)

  1. I love to see the cool hawks, but it is sad to see the songbirds disappear. It is best they go into hiding and keep safe.. I have plenty of blackbirds here.. Are you allowed to have bird feeders at your place.. I know the HOA have plenty of rules? Happy Friday, wish you a great weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, The short and sweet answer is yes, we can have bird feeders with approval of the HOA. I just do not have a really good place to hang one without all the process and little expense of petitioning for a change of landscape plan with the HOA. Some of my neighbors do have bird feeders. Who knows? Maybe I will get my plan together and include a pole bird feeder in that plan. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Hi Linda, You are SO right. Songbirds and Hawks do not mix. Luckily, I don’t see too many hawks here –but sometimes (even when I don’t see them) I ‘know’ that they are around. When all of the birds LEAVE the feeders for awhile —I’ll bet there is a hawk nearby. I did see one not too long ago –one I had never seen before (Sharp-shinned Hawk)…

    Hope you are MUCH warmer there than we are here… We’ve had a rough week and have another ICE Storm warning out for us from noon today until 9 a.m. tomorrow… Have had frigid temps all week. NOT FUN.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad all is fine other than being cold, for you. Also happy that you got to see a Sharp-shinned Hawk. I hope your birds do OK in the freezing weather you are having. We are cold but only in the high 20’s at night and high 40’s daytime. Very unusual weather! Have a pleasant weekend!

  3. adorable warblers and love the titmouses (titmice?) yes, when you get that many hunting hawks, i’m sure it is intimidating for the songbirds!

    • Hi Theresa, We are getting a few small visiting warblers which are fun to see. Soon, we may start seeing flocks of American Robins, which are certainly welcome! Have a super weekend!

  4. I like your photo of the titmouse. They are the cutest of birds!

    • Hi Montucky, I saw that bird and another today. I think the hawks had a lot to eat already so the little birds were safe (or something along those lines). Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

