Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_1717

DSC_1734

DSC_1769

A lot of wildlife was spotted at the lovely La Chua Trail in Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park near Gainesville, FL, on March 12, 2015.  I saw 14 large American Alligators just off the wide easy trail.  One does have to be careful about the alligators but they were all in the water and off of the path while I was there (alligators do get close to the trail!).  I photographed that Common Gallinule (below center) just a moment before one of the alligators snuck up on it and had it for dinner.

The trail is about 2 miles long and is flat with several shade areas with benches.  There is a large overlook at the end but I did not get that far as it was a hot afternoon and I was pretty tired.  I only did half of this beautiful trail.  We paid a $4.00 parking/entry fee at the trail head parking lot.  If you go, don’t forget a bottle of drinking water! Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1863DSC_1824DSC_1832

 

DSC_1774DSC_1793DSC_1820

Comments on: "La Chua Trail at Paynes Prairie" (4)

  1. Interesting to see the gators, but too bad about the Gallinute!

    • Hi Montucky, I made a spelling error that I have fixed it in the post – should be Common Gallinule not Purple Gallinute. I apologize for the oops. I had a ton of fun walking that trail but like I said, the gators were active so walkers had to be careful. Yes, too bad for that Gallinule as I had just taken its picture when that gator took it under the water to eat it. Have a wonderful Friday!

  2. oh, these are great shots! and to witness the alligator taking the gallinule – pretty neat to see nature’s order of things!

    • Hi Theresa, I was very happy we discovered this section of the park. It is a gem! Surprisingly, there is a lake and canal there where the trail is located. Some of the trail is boardwalk, and most is sandy soil – very easily followed and wide. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

