Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_1947 - Version 2 The Sand Hill Crane duo that I have photographed several times in the past at a rather swampy small pond in Northwestern Marion County, Florida have become parents!  I am thrilled!  I often look for these cranes when I am up on this road looking for wildlife (ducks, egrets, turtles, turkeys and the cranes).

In recent weeks, I had missing seeing one of these large beauties and now I know why – she was nesting!  I took these pictures yesterday (March 16, 2015) from the roadside using my long lens.  These birds were in a pasture on one of the major horse farms in our area.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy and have a very happy St. Patrick’s Day!  I will be back to my regular posting schedule tomorrow. DSC_1941DSC_1955 - Version 2DSC_1951 - Version 2

Comments on: "A Special Edition: A Sandhill Crane Family!" (4)

  1. That’s so nice to see. They look very proud to have a youngster!

    • Hi Montucky, It does look like they are proud of their offspring. I believe so. I am simply thrilled to have seen a Sandhill Crane chick for the first time. Wow! Have an excellent St. Patrick’s Day!

  2. oh, that little one is adorable! i hope it makes it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

