Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_2465

The juvenile Great Horned Owl seems to be doing fine at our local park. This owl is likely one of two that I had photographed at that park about thirteen days ago when it was still in its nest.

The young owl was up in the shady crown of a pine adjacent to the tree where its nest sits empty.  I visited this beautiful botanical park in Marion County, Florida yesterday, March 31, 2015.   Please click on they thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2481DSC_2498DSC_2496

Comments on: "A Juvenile Great Horned Owl" (4)

  1. such an intense face for a fuzzy guy! 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, I think he or she was very confused and still learning how to cope with wind, flying, catching dinner and being safe. A big new world. It kept an eye on my and also was watching several medium-sized Cooter Turtles basking on the shoreline of the nearby pond. Have a wonderful day!

  2. It is super cool any time you have a chance to photograph an owl!

    • Hi Montucky, I knew the juveniles must be around so I went looking and found one. I think I got the shot because these are inexperienced and out and about in the afternoon. I am glad that I had that rare opportunity. Have a great day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

