Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_2676

I spotted this Red-bellied Woodpecker at Blue Run Park in Dunnellon, Florida on April 17, 2015.  The chatty busy and absolutely wonderful bird was pecking away on a broken limb in a huge Oak.  This Oak Tree was along the pond trail on the back side of the pond away from the bike trail.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2685DSC_2683

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: A Red-bellied Woodpecker in Dunnellon, FL" (10)

  1. I love the woodies and enjoy your woodie Wednesday.. Great shots.. Have a happy day.. BTW, thank for the email and heads up!

  2. they’re so pretty. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, they are beautiful birds! I am attracted to all of the various sub-types of woodpeckers that visit or live around my area. I am still waiting to spot a Northern Yellow-shafted Flicker – said to live in these parts. Who knows? I also am seriously hoping to see more Red-heads. Well, enough of that for now. Have a tremendous day!

  3. I like the post. A comment, if I may, the larger images are berly larger than the thumbnails.

    • Hi Sherry, Thanks for your great comment. I am not certain how to increase sizing but I’ll try working on it a bit. I appreciate your kind feed-back. I am an advanced beginner with the camera and have been a part-time blogger for several years. I am writing the blog for education and recreation and don’t expect an income from it. That said, I try to do well. Have a super good day!

  4. They’re fun to watch, but sometimes I can’t understand just why they are doing what they are doing. Seems like a lot of unproductive effort sometimes.

    • Hi Montucky, Some drumming is to attract a mate; some is to communicate otherwise, some is to peck-out wood to enlarge a hole, and some is to herd insects so as to get at them more easily. Woodpeckers are pretty complicated birds! Have a fine day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

