Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3271

I photographed this Red-bellied Woodpecker as it went from tree to tree in the yards near my home on May 10, 2015.  It was among a large group of songbirds that arrived together and feasted on rather plentiful insects in the trees.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3281

DSC_3366

DSC_3417

 

DSC_3283 - Version 2DSC_3422DSC_3293

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: A Busy Red-Bellied Woodpecker" (6)

  1. oh, my gosh! the upside down one is hilarious! 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, I agree! It was spurred on by the wild feeding frenzy earlier that morning when I had a huge flock of Tufted Titmice appear in my front yard trees. I am guessing there was a swarm of insects just prior to all those birds going nuts! Have an excellent day!

  2. That top photo is sure a good one of that beautiful bird!

    • Hi Montucky, I managed to get up close that time. Many thanks! Have a fine day today and enjoy your beautiful mountain trails if the opportunity comes your way!

  3. Awesome shots of the Redbellied Woodpecker. They are one of my favorites! Happy Friday and have a great weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, Thank you! I managed to get really close to the tree where the woodpecker was at because it was concentrating on its prey instead of worrying about me. Glad you enjoy those woodpeckers a lot! Have a super good coming weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

