Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Prothonotary Warbler

Prothonotary Warbler

I visited St. Mark’s National Wildlife Refuge in the Panacea, Florida area on May 20, 2015.  I was at a small picnic park area of the refuge on the shore of Otter Lake at the small boat ramp, when I spotted these birds and a couple of alligators.  I believe the better time to visit this refuge would be in the Winter when I expect that many more birds are there.  I did enjoy the visit tremendously!  It is a beautiful wild place.

I will share a few pictures I took featuring sea-shore wildlife, there in the refuge at the Apalachee Bay section, in an upcoming post.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

Otter Lake

Otter Lake

Male Boat-tailed Grackle

Male Boat-tailed Grackle

Prothonotary Warbler

Prothonotary Warbler

Grey Kingbird?

Grey Kingbird?

Otter Lake

Otter Lake

Alligator

Alligator

Comments on: "Wildlife at St. Mark’s National Wildlife Refuge" (4)

  1. that warbler sure grabs your attention! the undertail of that kingbird? is pretty unique!

    • Hi Theresa, This was the first Prothonotary Warbler I had seen. I really loved seeing it. It was quite a show-stopper of a bird. Yes, the bird that I think is a Kingbird does have a neat looking tail. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. It is a pretty place, I like the trees and the lake. The Warbler is beautiful, such a bright yellow. Wishing you a happy Memorial Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

