Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3609

I photographed this Eastern Blue Jay across the street from my home on May 16, 2015.  Blue Jays are infrequent visitors along my stretch of the street.  When they are around, one can really hear a lot of chatter!  The Eastern Blue Jays primarily love eating insects, but also enjoy nuts, seeds, and fruits.

This bird was hunting high and low for a tasty insect.  There is a lot of competition here on my street among the birds, Anole lizards, and even the squirrels for the bugs and spiders for foods.  I am certain though, that on this occasion, the jay got its meal!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3620DSC_3615

Comments on: "An Eastern Blue Jay on the Hunt" (4)

  1. i do love these characters. they’re truly one of our most beautiful birds, yet we take them for granted.

    • Hi Theresa, I rarely see Blue Jays here so I was especially happy to have the bird across the street. I still have never seen any Florida Scrub Jays so they are on the “Must try to spot” list. Have a wonderful rest of the week and thanks for your great comments!

  2. Very pretty. I haven’t seen one here yet this summer.

  3. I love the jays too, they have character! Fun to watch! Have a happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

