Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3924

This small flock of Black-bellied “Whistlers” was happily hanging out at a small backyard pond in Northwestern Marion County, Florida when I came by and snapped these pictures.  This pond is out in horse country and is a shared facility between several homes.  I took the pictures from the side of the road.  I snuck up on the pair above to get this rather close-up photo with my long lens (I stayed far enough away from the birds so as not to disturb them as much as possible).

I have taken pictures near this pond before and have frequently spotted Canada Geese, a Great Blue Heron and various ducks.  I was absolutely thrilled to spot the flock of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks.  I believe this particular flock of the ducks are native here in Florida and are not migratory.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3936DSC_3943DSC_3939

Comments on: "Black-bellied Whistling Ducks at a Pond" (6)

  1. They are my favorite duck and so darn cute. It is nice you see some that do not migrate. Great shots. Have a great Friday and a happy weekend!

  2. They are interesting and very pretty too. I’ve never seen one.

  3. you know i love them dearly. 🙂 love those pink feet dangling as they take off and land. and i had a pair sitting on my board fence this morning, too. i almost snuck out to take photos but just watched them for a bit from the front porch. 🙂

    • Hi Whistler Wisperer (AKA Tex), I think of you when I spot Whistling Ducks. Glad you have your flock still there on your pond. I enjoyed seeing this little flock here in my area. Have a pleasant weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

