Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wednesday’s Whistlers

DSC_6859

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks were out in force at Tuscawilla Park in downtown Ocala, Florida when I was there last week.  I enjoy watching the cute “Whistlers”!  There were older juveniles among the flock of adults.  You can tell the youngsters by their grey-bluish bills and feet.  The Black-bellied Whistling Ducks’ bills, and feet will turn bright pink as they become adults.

The group of ducks I saw last week appears to be a resident Florida flock.  I expect many migratory ducks to arrive here in Central Florida in coming months.  I think the largest waterbird gathering at Tuscawilla Park happens in late January and early February.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see a very slightly larger version of that photo.  Enjoy!  P.S.  Sorry for the slightly late post today – I just forgot.  I do not use auto post.  Wildlifewatcher

DSC_6819DSC_6817DSC_6808

DSC_6850DSC_6841DSC_6832

Comments on: "Wednesday’s Whistlers" (4)

  1. you know i adore them so. 🙂

  2. Great photos! I wish I could see them some time!
    Many of the waterfowl that spend their summers here have already migrated, but many Canada Geese are still here and I love to hear them.

    • Hi Montucky, So glad to hear from you! I hope you will some day get to enjoy these cuties! I photographed a bunch of the Whistlers in flight just yesterday at dusk. Those pictures will end up here maybe in coming weeks. Have a tremendous Friday tomorrow and a great day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

