Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Hawks in the Sky

DSC_7226

Red-shouldered Hawks paid my yard a visit on October 5, 2015.  I was in my kitchen when I heard hawks calling from a very close distance.  I have three very large Oak Trees in my back yard so I knew that the hawks may be landing in one of those trees.

These are the first hawks I have seen in my neighborhood in Lake County, Florida since my husband and I moved here a few months ago.  We mostly see the wading birds and a few songbirds.  My overall neighborhood (except the parks)  does not have a lot of large trees which is one reason why the birds of prey are not around much.

I grabbed my camera and went to the yard but the birds had taken wing by the time I arrived.  I think it was a female being pursued by two males.  The birds swiftly flew around the neighborhood before leaving for other places.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of that image.  Enjoy!

DSC_7235

DSC_7230

Comments on: "Hawks in the Sky" (5)

  1. fabulous feather patterns they have!

  2. Great to see them wheeling above!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, it is. I think one or two will be around the immediate neighborhood here. I have moved South and now live in Lake County so I do not see the same birds I did when I lived up near Ocala. Have a wonderful day today and an excellent day again tomorrow!

  3. Pretty captures of the Hawks, great sighting. Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

