Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wednesday’s Whistlers

DSC_6913

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks are fantastic and really pretty ducks!  I so enjoy spotting these cinnamon brown, black, white, and pink ducks.  They are amusing to watch as they are social and bunch up.  They whistle instead of quacking so it is pretty easy to tell that they are around.  Not many other types of ducks whistle.

I took these pictures in the last two weeks.  The picture of the ducks in flight was taken at a local park in Lake County, Florida at twilight.  The pictures of the whistlers on the banks of a pond were taken at a backyard pond in Northwestern Marion County, Florida near several large horse farms.

I believe these particular birds are Florida resident ducks.  Some flocks of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks do come down from up North for the Winter so I will likely see more of these pleasant ducks in coming weeks.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger image.  Enjoy!

DSC_7209 (1)DSC_7207DSC_7206

Comments on: "Wednesday’s Whistlers" (6)

  1. I love the Whistlers, great photos. I was missing Tex’s Whistling Ducks so i am happy to see you sharing yours. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, So glad you enjoy seeing the whistlers. I am beginning to notice a few around in various small ponds and lakes here. They come and go but I believe more will join them soon. I am seeing more birds of all kinds each week. Migration is starting. Have a great day!

  2. They are unusual and I love how they stay close together. Had I not seen them on your blog I would not have known about them.

    • Hi Montucky, Thanks. My blog pal Tex from the Run Around Ranch blog, started having a weekly Whistlers on Wednesday meme a few years ago and I have temporarily taken up the torch on Black-bellied Whistling Ducks. Have a great day today and enjoy the beautiful forest and mountains!

  3. i love their coloration and social gatherings, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

