Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Eastern Peewee

Eastern Peewee

An Eastern Pewee, a Palm Warbler, and several Northern Cardinals have arrived in the past week.  I expect more songbirds will be arriving in coming weeks.  It is so nice to see the familiar songbirds in my yard and in the yards of various neighbors.  I also have spotted a very shy Carolina Wren that is hard to get pictures of.  I’ll keep trying to photograph that little sweetie and will post those snapshots here soon.

I am enjoying seeing a broader mix of birds than just the water birds and larger birds I mostly saw this last Summer here in Lake and Sumter Counties in Florida.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

Palm Warbler

Palm Warbler

Female Northern Cardinal

Female Northern Cardinal

Male Northern Cardinal

Male Northern Cardinal

Comments on: "Migratory Songbirds Arriving in Florida" (4)

  1. It will be fun for you to watch the new arrivals! Lots of our summer birds have already gone, but a few are still passing through. It is 29 this morning, so that will hasten their migration south!

  2. Hello, you are seeing a great variety of Songbirds. The Pewee is one of my favorites. Enjoy your new arrivals. I am seeing some of my winter birds moving back. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I am quite happily spotting several new Cardinals in my trees. It has been windy for a few days so most of the birds are staying home. Have a really great weekend!

  3. that peewee is so cute.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

