Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

An Amazing Sight!

DSC_0596

A gathering of Common Cormorants, Great and Snowy Egrets, White Pelicans, and Wood Storks, all in a small cove end of a large pond was an amazing sight to see!  I spotted the groups of big birds in a pond connected by a large pipe to the small neighborhood lake here.

This pond is ringed only by homes and has no public access.  I took the pictures from the street at a tiny park, a long way from where the birds were.  I am thankful that my long 150-500 lens could get the pictures.  this is a secret spot, where the birds can relax away from people for the most part.  I took the pictures at dusk on Dec. 7, 2015.  The pond has a large fountain going at full blast where the White Pelicans and many of the Common Cormorants were paddling slowly.  I also saw to my great happiness, a couple of Bufflehead Ducks!  They are my favorite ducks!  Please click on the thumbnail images to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_0610DSC_0533DSC_0600

 

DSC_0598DSC_0627DSC_0616

 

Comments on: "An Amazing Sight!" (6)

  1. What a great sight! They are assembling to take advantage of and enjoy a true sanctuary!

    • Hi Montucky, It really is a quiet spot where some water-front homes are seasonal while others live there year-around. The birds just congregated there. I had a hunch that that may be where I would see some and I was rewarded with that interesting long-distance view! So glad I persisted. I am fortunate to live within a mile of two tiny lakes, and two ponds (including one that is at a small 9 hole golf course). I also live within ten miles of many medium and large lakes in Lake County! Lots to see and do. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and enjoy your beautiful mountain scenery!

  2. their own hideaway!

  3. Hello, the Buffleheads are pretty ducks, love the light shining on their heads. It is great the birds have this secret spot to rest and enjoy. I love the pelicans. Great shots! Happy Wednesday, have a great day!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I only saw just the one pair of Buffleheads, but they may be scouts. I also saw a few Lesser Scaups which have been here about two weeks now. Lots of amazing sights. My husband saw and photographed a Bald Eagle, but all I could get was an Osprey as the eagle had flown off. Coots are around so maybe that is why we suddenly have the attention of the eagle? Who knows? Have an excellent day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

