Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

 

Southern Bald Eagle

Southern Bald Eagle

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

This nature preserve is part of The Villages, Florida in a new area to the South end of the development.  I went to the preserve on December 15, 2015 and enjoyed seeing American Coots, a Little Blue Heron, a Bald Eagle (up on the high tension electric tower), a Red-bellied Woodpecker, the Sherman’s Fox Squirrels, a number of ducks in the distance, and Meadowlarks.

In the past, I have also seen Great Egrets, and a White Tailed Deer (across on the far side of the lake).  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  By the way, it was raining lightly when I was at the preserve.  P.S.  I saw a huge flock of White Pelicans arrive at the small neighborhood lake near my home this afternoon.  I hope to get some pictures taken while the birds are still around.  Wildlifewatcher

Scenic View of the Far Shore

Scenic View of the Far Shore

Ring-necked Ducks

Ring-necked Ducks

Southern Bald Eagle

Southern Bald Eagle

 

 

Entry

Entry

Sherman's Fox Squirrel

Sherman’s Fox Squirrel

Observation Tower and Deck

Observation Tower and Deck

 

American Coot

American Coot

Eastern Meadowlarks

Eastern Meadowlarks

 

 

 

American Coot

American Coot

 

 

Comments on: "A Visit to the Sharon Rose Weichens Preserve" (8)

  1. What a great preserve, with such an assortment of wildlife!

    • Hi Montucky, I am really happy that the developer and the community leaders are so good about preserving natural spaces and helping wildlife. Have a great Sunday tomorrow!

  2. Hello, what a nice preserve! Pretty scenery and awesome variety of birds. I love the Little Blue Heron! Wonderful post and photos. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week!

    • Hi Eileen, Thank you. Yes, this preserve is wonderful. One of the things I try to do is look for critters where others are not looking. I often am rewarded. I like this preserve because though many people are now visiting, the boardwalk and observation tower plus sidewalk are large enough that the place seems uncrowded. Have a wonderful coming week!

  3. Hi All, I spoke too soon about the White Pelicans. I think the flock just were here for the night. I went to the park and to three other nearby small lakes and did not spot the pelicans at all. Oh well, sometimes it goes that way. Hopefully I will soon see others and have my camera with me to photograph them. Wildlifewatcher

  4. such a pretty little blue! and the sherman’s is awesome! little masked bandit!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

