Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Glossy Ibis

DSC_1875

This Glossy Ibis is the first Glossy Ibis I have ever seen.  I spotted the big wader feeding in the shallow marsh on the edge of a medium-sized lake here.  I took the pictures from a raised wooden deck observation platform at a little park, Live Oaks Park, in The Villages, FL (The “Sunrise Point” observation platform on Lake Sumter).

The Glossy Ibises live along the Southeastern Atlantic coastline here in the United States as well as in some places in Europe, Great Britain, and Africa.

Glossy Ibises eat aquatic insects, small fish, worms, and aquatic snails.  They use that long bill to root around in the muddy water for their prey.  This particular bird shown, is in its non-breeding colors.  It is very different from the juvenile White Ibis (which is shown in the center photograph below), side-by-side with the Glossy Ibis.  This bird gets a bronze and green coloring that is very attractive bright and glossy when in breeding finery.  The Glossy Ibis also has that dark grey blue-brown bill and similar coloring on the legs and feet.  I took the pictures on Dec. 30 2015.

Wishing everyone a very Happy New Year!  This is the beginning of my seventh year of writing this blog.  Happy birding and wildlife-watching in 2016!  P.S. Sorry for the late post today – too much fun, frivolity, and football.  Wildlifewatzher

DSC_1890DSC_1873DSC_1903

 

Comments on: "A Glossy Ibis" (8)

  1. Pretty nice to see a new bird! I bet you have soent some time since locating there just identifying the birds that you see!

  2. congrats on a new bird!

    • Hi Tex, Thanks! I was pretty happy to have found the Glossy. I thought I had seen one in flight a year or so ago, but now I believe it was likely a juvenile White Ibis I had seen back then. Seeing the Glossy up close and also next to the juvenile white, it is clear who was who. Ha! Have a great weekend!

  3. Hello, congrats on your Glossy Ibis sighting. They are common up here in the summer.
    Happy New Year to you and yours! Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I believe yes, they are an Atlantic coast bird. I grew up in Los Angeles and have briefly lived in Northeast Texas and also those three years in Tennessee which explains why the Glossy Ibis is new for me. Have a super weekend!

  4. Always a thrill to see a new bird species, congrats! Wish the Ibis’ would come up to the Chesapeake Bay area in the summer, I’d be grateful!! 🙂

    • Hi Bayphotosbydonna, I hope you get the Glossy Ibises up your way this next Summer! I was so thrilled to see a Glossy Ibis. There are loads of the White Ibises here so seeing that Glossy was especially nice for me (I only saw the one). Have a great day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

