Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Eastern Blue Jay

Eastern Blue Jay

The weather has been very windy here so I have not been seeing many birds out.  It also is the beginning of nesting season and that may also be a factor in not seeing a lot of birds.  I did spot a cheerful Eastern Blue Jay squawking as it hunted for bugs on the lawns and in the shrubbery near my home.

I saw what I think is an Eastern Phoebe in my Magnolia Tree and another Eastern Phoebe on the neighbor’s roof yesterday afternoon.  We also have had a few Common Crows, some Boat-tailed Grackles and a Carolina Wren that is quite shy and did not pose for my camera.  By the way, it was good I got those pictures of the egrets and herons the other day as my access to that section of the pond/lake is now pretty much gone.  The owner of the lot has started building his new home there.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger size of that picture.  Enjoy!

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Male Boat-tailed Grackle

Male Boat-tailed Grackle

Comments on: "Different Songbirds on the Street" (8)

  1. Very nice photo of the Jay! Well done!

  2. Good morning, Love the jay shot. I am sorry you lost access to the pond area. Happy Monday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks. Hopefully I can find a way to gain future nice access without any trouble. Otherwise, it will be really long distance long lens shots toward that part of the lake (pond). Have a super good Tuesday!

  3. some bright colors in these! 🙂

  4. aww. sorry about the new construction cutting you off from the pond area.

    • Hi Tex, I may be able to shimmy along the shore line at the side of the lot but I don’t know how the future resident would like that (I have to find out). So for the foreseeable future, that will be an ultra long distance photo opportunity from the park land. Not great at all. Who knows, maybe I can make friends with one or more of the shoreline residents. Time will tell. Thanks for caring. Have a wonderful coming week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

