Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_3719

This pair of Red-shouldered Hawks has moved into the neighborhood here where I live.  We have been seeing the birds of prey here for the past week.  I think they are now in the process of nest building.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3724DSC_3734DSC_3733

Comments on: "A Pair of Hawks in the Neighborhood" (11)

  1. They are not popular with the smaller birds, but the hawks are beautiful birds.

  2. how neat. they have such beautiful feather patterns!

  3. Love the hawks! I just saw my first red-shouldered a couple days ago. I’m in your state on vacation right now and have been in awe of all the new birds I’m capturing that we don’t have around the Chesapeake Bay! Now I’m fully understanding why Florida is a birder’s paradise! I don’t want to leave!

    • Hi Bayphotosbydonna, Glad you are enjoying your visit to Florida! Yes, it is a wonderful place for birding and for seeing a lot of variety of critters! This is a good season as it is not too rainy hot or humid like it is here in the Summer. I hope you continue to have a good time. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Good morning, how cool to have a pair of neighborhood hawks. Bad for your song birds though. It will be neat to see the hawk chicks. Great photos. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week!

    • Hi Eileen, Now I have to figure out where they are actually nesting – I have a general idea but it likely is not on my own street. They were gathering materials in one of the large Junipers on the street here and perching on a giant Sycamore here but flew off towards the North with their branches. I will figure it out hopefully. Have a great coming week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

