Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

It’s Woodpecker Wednesday!

DSC_3829 - Version 2I spotted this chatty Red-bellied Woodpecker in my backyard Live Oak Tree this past weekend.  It was playing peek-a-boo with me and I only got a quick few snaps taken before the bird flew off to other places.  I rarely see woodpeckers in my trees so I was thrilled when this one visited!  Hopefully, I will see it or its friends again.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3827DSC_3831DSC_3830

Comments on: "It’s Woodpecker Wednesday!" (6)

  1. So glad the Redbellied Woodie paid you a visit. Hopefully he will hang around and bring his mate. Great shots. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, We have had furiously windy weather with some rain today. I don’t think I will be getting any bird watching in – it is bad timing for the birds that the wind is so high as birds are trying to build nests. One good thing is that sticks birds will then pick up for nest building raw materials will have fallen. Have a great day tomorrow!

  2. i think of you whenever i hear them and think of ‘chuff chuff’. 🙂

  3. I’ve had a few woodies around all winter, but lately I’ve seen many more, especially downies. They are having a good year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

