Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

More of Those Cute Ducks!

DSC_3873DSC_3868 - Version 2DSC_3886

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks, or “Whistlers” are extremely cute ducks!  I saw a small flock of the whistlers at a local park lake last evening at dusk.  The bunch of ducks were on the shore at the Veteran’s Park in The Villages, Florida, near the Spanish Springs town square.  Such cuties!

The whistlers were at the park with some Chinese white geese, some Mallard Ducks, Common Coots, mixed breed ducks, and a lone Muscovy Duck.  I enjoy seeing all the various kinds of waterfowl, wading birds and other critters at all of the small lakes and ponds here in my new community!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_3882DSC_3854DSC_4047

Comments on: "More of Those Cute Ducks!" (8)

  1. Hello, I always enjoy seeing the Whistling Ducks. They are so darn cute. Great shots. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I was thrilled to get the shots. It continues to be very windy here. The big birds are easy to see and take pictures of. I did see a Carolina Wren, a Northern Mockingbird, and a Tufted Titmouse in my front yard this AM but did not have the camera out. Oh well. At least I know they may be around again. Have a super good day tomorrow!

  2. The ducks look great. Never seen them over this side of the big pond!

    • Hi navasolanature, These are tremendously pretty as mature ducks with their vivid pink bill and feet. I hope you will be able to see the Black-bellied Whistling Ducks some day. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. You’re right, they are really cute. Wish I could see them for myself!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

