Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_5059 - Version 2

An Osprey or Sea Hawk/Sea Eagle, was spotted perched on the top of a street light pole near Lake Sumter in The Villages, Florida (near Live Oak Park on Morse Avenue).  I saw the big bird of prey a few weeks ago.  It was just hanging out resting and after about five minutes, it flew off.

Interestingly, after the Osprey was gone, a Common Crow flew up and took its place.  Popular spot!  I have also spotted Osprey several times near the nearby area close to the bridges and Sunset Point.   Osprey are spectacular fishers and interesting to watch.  I was glad to have seen this one.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_5050DSC_5075DSC_5061

 

Comments on: "An Osprey in the Villages, FL" (9)

  1. Cool sighting! I haven’t seen the Ospreys return here for the summer yet.

  2. rarely ever see ospreys around were I live you are very lucky I am a deep wildlife lover and do a blog on garden wildlife and birds

    • Hi beebuddyblog, Welcome. Osprey are really beautiful and powerful hawks. I enjoy spotting them nearly as much as I do seeing Bald Eagles here. Have a great day tomorrow!

      • Thank you I would love to see a osprey near me never see anything to good the normal things did you take part in the big garden bird watch

  3. Good morning, the Osprey are cool birds. I hope to see some soon around here. Great captures. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks a bunch! I hope your birds come home soon. I really am happy to have seen so many birds here this last Winter. I am seeing fewer birds now. They are on their way home up North or are nesting. Have a fabulous day today!

  4. a nice look-out point. 🙂

  5. Hi Tex, Yes, the big birds can see what is happening in the lake as well as around the park area and a bit of the golf course fringe areas, too. Have a really great day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

