Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_6477

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks, or “Whistlers” are such cuties I just had to share a few snapshots I took at a little parkland pond here in The Villages, FL, last Saturday afternoon.  The pond is the same one that I spotted the Florida Mottled Duck ducklings at.

Whistlers, as you may imagine, do not quack but do whistle.  They have a pretty pink bill with the same shade of pink on their legs and feet.  Both genders pretty much look the same.  These ducks are a bit like the Mallards in that they eat aquatic plants, insects, tiny fish, tiny frogs, and grains.  This bunch is likely local and not migratory ducks here.  It is always fun to see the Whistling Ducks!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture. Enjoy!

DSC_6537DSC_6461

DSC_6500

 

DSC_6475DSC_6508DSC_6553

Comments on: "Whistlers on Wednesday" (8)

  1. Thank you! I loved seeing them and learning a bit about them!

  2. I would love to see them! There is a duck here every summer that whistles lightly when it flies and I greatly enjoy seeing and hearing them. I know I would love your whistlers!

    • Hi Montucky, Glad you also have a kind of whistler there in your area. I do hope you get to see some of the Black-bellied Whistlers in person – so cute! Have a terrific day today and thanks for your nice comments!

  3. Hello, I always enjoy seeing these cute ducks. Great captures of the Whistlers. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, Glad you enjoy these cuties! I enjoy them tremendously. I sure had to work to find them, too. The little flock near my neighborhood moved somewhere else. I had to hunt for this bunch! Glad I found the pond with its variety. Have a nice day tomorrow!

  4. adorable little characters, they are…

    • Hi Tex, I know how much you adore the whistlers! Yes, the whistlers are adorable! Have a super good day tomorrow and thanks for your great comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

