Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_7077

This Glossy Ibis in its breeding finery was spotted a few days ago at the Santiago Golf Course pond in The Villages, Florida.  I took the pictures at about 7:00PM.  This is the first Glossy Ibis I have seen that was so brilliantly colored.  A show-off stunner of a bird!

These wading birds enjoy aquatic worms, aquatic plants, some insects, tiny fish, tadpoles, and the occasional seeds and grains.  They like freshwater marshes but the manicured lawn shoreline of a golf course will do just fine, of course!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_7084DSC_7113DSC_7101

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "A Gloriously Bright Glossy Ibis in Breeding Plumage" (6)

  1. Hello, The Glossy Ibis is a gorgeous bird. I love seeing their pretty color shine with the sunlight. Great collection of photos. Have a happy day!

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks! Yes, the bird was close to me and also the light was perfect for the brilliant color to come through. Have a super good Thursday tomorrow and thanks for your always kind comments!

  2. beautiful rich russet!

    • Hi Tex, I agree. Very pretty bird. I have never seen one in breeding color. I suspect that this is a male but I do not know. Have a wonderful Thursday tomorrow! I appreciate your great comments!

  3. Wow, they really show off don’t they! What a display of color! I had no idea they did that.

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, very very brightly colored in breeding season. I was surprised, too. My hubby thought it almost was a Scarlet Ibis but I told him no, those are like a fire engine red. Have a super good Friday tomorrow. Thanks for your always wonderful comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

