Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

 

Backyard Surprise: A Mallard Duck!

The Mallard Duck

I saw this drake Mallard in my back yard one early evening.  I snapped that particular picture through my window.  Imagine my surprise as I live about a half-mile from the nearest pond or lake.  After having seen this duck, I noticed that there have been a few of these ducks roaming around this neighborhood in the last couple of weeks.  Perhaps in search of a honey or maybe just different food?  Who can say.

I spotted the Killdeer, Tri-colored Heron and the Great Egret at Santiago Golf Course pond, and the Wood Duck drake at Paradise Lake at Boone Park in The Villages, Florida. This Wood Duck is one of the few Wood Ducks I have ever seen in The Villages.

Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

A Tri-colored Heron at Santiago Golf Course Pond

A Tri-colored Heron at Santiago Golf Course Pond

Oh-so-low, A Great Egret Hunts

A Great Egret Hunts

Great Egret at Santiago Golf Course Pond

A Great Egret at Santiago Golf Course Pond

 

A Killdeer at Santiago Golf Course

A Killdeer at Santiago Golf Course

A Family of Canada Geese at Boone Park

Canada Geese at Boone Park

Drake (male) Wood Duck at Boone Park

A Wood Duck at Boone Park

 

 

Comments on: "Some Wildlife in The Villages, FL" (4)

  1. a nice hodgepodge variety. 🙂

    • Hi Tex, Yes, a bit of everything. I do often see a lot of different species here in my community. Those ducks in the yard were a huge surprise. Have a great weekend!

  2. Hello, a nice variety of birds. I always love the tri-colored heron and the egrets. The wood duck is handsome and a great sighting. Wonderful series of photos and birds. Have a happy day and weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I hardly ever see the Tri-colored Herons here much these days so seeing one was very nice. I always love spotting the gorgeous Wood Ducks! Only one this time. By the way, I saw the little family of Sandhill Cranes two nights ago at the little lake near us. So good they are doing fine. Have a wonderful Sunday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

