Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

 

DSC_7468

These are a few of the ducks I spotted at Lake Mira Mar in The Villages, Fl recently.  They are Mottled Ducks, and hybrid Mallard Ducks.  The Mallards may be a cross between Mottled and Mallard as well as a cross between Mallard and Muscovy.  They seem to be sweet happy ducks.

I enjoy seeing the ducks waddling around on the lawns or paddling in the small lakes and even the man-made stream that runs from the plaza to the lake.  Occasionally (Winter) some white Pekin Ducks or wild ducks such as Lesser Scaups, Hooded Mergansers, or even Green Teal join in the fun at this pleasant park and lake area.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_7579DSC_7566DSC_7578

Comments on: "Park Ducks at Lake Mira Mar in The Villages, FL" (9)

  1. Hi all, My hubby and I were out and about in our golf cart tonight and spotted a lone Wood Stork sitting on the edge of the parking lot at Lake Mira Mar at just about 7:00PM. I did not have my camera or phone with me so no pictures. I will try tomorrow if the big bird is around.

  2. We have quite a variety of ducks here now too. I sure enjoy them.

  3. glad you got to see the wood stork. ducks are always fun.

    • Hi Tex, Yes, seeing that Wood Stork was nice. It was just standing on the curb and briefly in the edge of the parking lot itself. I think it was here before the “Please do not feed the birds” sign got put up there recently, and has just returned to the area. I am guessing it was confused as to why the people in the golf carts did not offer any treats. Ha! It certainly can and does fend for itself. Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Tex, I went to your fine blog tonight a moment ago but could not comment as Blogger and WordPress ID are not communicating well (they sometimes do have this trouble). Anyway, I liked the tiny toad and that skink. The snail not so much but then I am not fond of ’em. Ha! Have a wonderful coming week.

  4. Hello, cute shots of the ducks. Those hybrid ducks can be confusing. Have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I know what you mean about confusing backgrounds in the hybrid ducks. Hard to clearly tell which breeds have mixed sometimes. Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

